Bookbinding Workshop

Today I went to a bookbinding workshop and made a little concertina book! I have done some bookbinding before, so I was familiar with some elements of the process, but this workshop showed me a more professional and neat way of creating my own books. The process is precise and involves carefully measuring your paper and covers to the correct size. To get crisp folds in the paper we used bone folders, and we covered our books with proper book cloth. At the end we placed our books in a machine that can flatten the books overnight which gives it a professional finish. I was also shown the stitching method used to sew paper together for the inside of a book, which is a really useful technique to know. I will definitely be making more books to use as sketchbooks!

img_1783

Leave a Reply

