Cardiff Cultural Journey

CARDIFF CASTLE

We sat outside the castle on the grass and did some drawings. It was a strange atmosphere sitting next to such a historic building with the contrast of the hustle and bustle of the city moving around it. When looking at the building and the surrounding area I tried to find patterns within things using the shapes I could see within them. The castle was huge and impressive. I found it interesting how it feels like a mini world of history hidden amongst the shops.

img_1163

ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CHURCH

A lovely religious building surrounded by intricate railings and a small garden. I liked the lines and shapes in the railings so I recreated this within my drawings. Unfortunately the garden and inside of the church were closed so we couldn’t look at the stained glass windows from the inside. I loved the detail I could see in the windows from the outside, and really enjoyed trying to replicate that in my drawing.

Leave a Reply

